Resolution Run

My sister and I started the year off on the right foot and then the left foot. Right, left, repeat to cover a total distance of 5k for the annual Resolution run in Moncton.  It’s a great way to start a new year.

26234089_10155018192667461_1677888170_nOur temperatures have been extremely cold for the last week or two, but I have been running outdoors everyday so I have acclimatized.  Sort of.  My sister had never run in such cold temperatures and she considered not participating but I managed to persuade her not to be a wimp. I also offered some advise re. layering and using petroleum jelly on exposed skin.

Temperature was around -13C with a Real Feel of -25C.  Because we dressed appropriately, it was actually a great day for running. The route was along the riverfront trail in Moncton.  As expected it was snow packed and icy in places so we chose to run slowly and carefully.  We finished in exactly 35 minutes, about 4 minutes slower than our usual pace.

resi=oution.pngA big shout out to the coordinators and volunteers who braved the frigid temperatures to make this event so successful.  A nice hot bowl of chili at the Finish Line was the perfect touch.

Happy New Year everyone.

Leave a comment