Ottawa Training Week 10

Wow.. week 10. Double Digits.! I have been training for 2 1/2 months.  The focus has been on developing a solid base of fitness upon which to build.  This is how Week 10 shaped up.

Monday – Cross Training one hour

Nailed it!  Twenty minutes walking on incline treadmill ( 5% -15%) , 10 minutes on stationary bike, a 10 minute streak saving mile on treadmill, 15 minute stair climber , 10 minutes gentle stretch.

20170117_152525Tuesday – 10k easy

Fantastic run!  The first 6k was with a buddy, then she turned left to go home and I turned right to do another 4k by myself.  Beautiful sunny winter day.

WednesdayCircuit, including 4k running

I finally bought resistance bands. Today’s workout was focused more on form than intensity. I am looking forward to getting better at this.

Thursday – vV02 Max Plus-10 x 1 minute intervals, 2 minutes easy run in between.

This had to be done on the treadmill because of the road conditions. Great workout, and I treated myself to Cxworx afterwards.

Friday – Rest

It takes a lot of discipline to rest on Rest Day,  but I am getting better at it.  One easy mile for Run Streak Day 783

20170121_160851Saturday – Circuit / 4k running

This was moderate intensity as I am still focusing on form. Good workout and I felt the burn.

Sunday – Warm up 2 miles easy, 5 miles at HM intensity, cool down 2 miles ( 14k)

This didn’t happen.  I decided  to swap days. Tomorrow’ s plan is cross training so I did that today. It wasn’t brilliant but it got done.

Summary:  It was a good week.   My home gym ( okay, it’s really a spare bedroom with a yoga mat and a set of dumbbells)  is gradually becoming better equipped.  This week  I added some resistance bands which means that I don’t have to go to the gym to do strength training.   This week I have been doing some new exercises as part of the Circuit and I am focusing on Form instead of Speed for now. To make it more challenging, I let the cat in the room with me when I am exercising.   The weather no longer presents a problem as I am loving speedwork on the treadmill.

Run Happy!

20170123_161739.jpg

2 thoughts on “Ottawa Training Week 10

Leave a Reply

