Goals / Resolutions

I prefer Goals to Resolutions. Goals are measureable while resolutions are generally abstract.  For example I could Resolve to volunteer more at running events OR I could make a Goal to volunteer at 2 running events in 2017. You see what I mean? One is very specific and measureable , one is abstract.

That being said, I have given some thought to things that will make me  an Improved Version of Me.  Here are some 2017 resolutions that I am kicking around in my head right now.  Please note that this is not an official list and therefore not binding.

  • Sleep More. Seriously, I seldom get enough Rest.  My sleep time is usually less than 6 hours.
  • Drink More.  Hydration is always an issue for me.
  • Cut the Crap out of my diet. I feel better when I eat clean. I perform better when I eat clean.
  • Volunteer more at local Running Events
  • Motivate and encourage new runners.
  • Do Yoga for injury prevention
  • Always be humble and kind
  • Don’t sweat the small stuff.

These are my goals, subject to change without notice.

  • PB in 5k , 10k, 13k, 21.1k and 42.2k.  I have decided that I don’t want to chase numbers this year so I am not choosing goal times.  Current best times are 29:02, 1:03:43,  1:23:32, 2:24:46 and 5:11:05, respectively.
  • Ultra Trail Run.  .. still undecided.. it might be a goal for 2018.
  • Run Every Day in 2017.  I have been doing this since Nov 30, 2014 and don’t plan to stop anytime soon.
  • Yearly distance target .  2200 km. This is the only number that I shall chase this year.
  • Volunteer for at least two local run events.
  • Fitness goal. Be able to do 5 unassisted pull ups.
  • Yoga goal, be able to do Crane pose.

612339746

What are your goals and resolutions for 2017?   Good luck ! Stay strong, my friends and don’t let your dreams sizzle and fizzle and go out like some dud fireworks.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Goals / Resolutions

  1. It’s awesome that you don’t have a time goal on anything. That’s a smart way to do it. A PB is a PB no matter what the time is. My personal resolutions, are to run 500 miles this year, do yoga once a week (like you, for injury prevention), and connect with my family more!

    Like

  2. I like you reasoning for goals versus resolutions. I like making goals as specific as possible and I like putting deadlines on them to keep me on track. Best of luck on your goals and resolutions!

    Like

  3. I completely agree. I make sure I can quantify my goals and create an action plan step I will take toward reaching those goals. I am a numbers nut. I like your first goal about sleep, it is definitely something I need to improve on. Maybe I will look into ways that I can measure and track my sleep so that I can improve those habits. Good read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You can track your sleep with a Fitbit, I think. Bu you just inspired me to keep track of my sleep by keeping a journal record. A written record will keep me accountable because I am nerdy like that. Cheers!

      Like

Leave a comment