Ottawa Marathon Planning / Week 15

This is my online journal of my training for Ottawa Marathon.   Looking at this weeks schedule, I realize that this one is going to be intense.  Bring it on!

20170217_092116Monday : Planned  10k Easy running

Actual :  I tried but my body was so tired.  A few weeks ago I started working one hour earlier in the morning.  ( 4 am instead of 5 am.. I am a baker )  It has been really hard to adjust to waking up in the middle of the night to go to work. The previous night I stayed up late to watch the Ladies Curling Gold Medal Game  (Yes, I have heard of PVR…lol)  With only 3.5 hours of sleep I dragged my ass through 8 hours of work, and then met a friend for a planned 10k.  I knew I couldn’t do it, so planned for 5k. She dragged my ass 7k.  And it was so freaking windy, so it felt like 10k.   When I went home I napped for 4 hours.  I guess I WAS tired.

Tuesday -Planned Strength Training / Core Strength  ( Warm up 5k )

Actual : This is the strength training that has been rescheduled from Sunday.  It didn’t happen .  Today it seemed important to add an additional 5k to my schedule to reach 100 miles in February.  I enjoyed a lovely 5k Tempo run on this beautiful winter afternoon, then another 5k later with my Run Group.  The second run was  a nice warm up for the gym.  I was early for the CxWorx class, so had a 20 minute workout on the elliptical. The strength training WILL happen someday soon, maybe Thursday.

20170301_102508Wednesday -Planned Hill Session – Warm Up 5k ,  4@ 5k intensity on 400m hill with downhill recovery . Cool down 3k.

Actual: This went according to schedule, except I didn’t factor in the strong southern wind. I mean, it’s February… where did that southern wind come from?   Gunningsville Boulevard is my hill of choice, with a nice 500 meter section that has a 5-7%  grade. It’s a nice hill, and I have learned to embrace it.  The headwind was brutal going uphill today.  I didn’t even come close to matching my goal pace. My all time PR  on this segment is 3:06 and today’s effort was 4:26.  I’m ok with that.

Thursday -Planned 8k Easy / Core Strength

Actual : Ooops! This was supposed to be 8k?  I should have looked at it more closely.  I did 5k. But I did 20 minutes on the bicycle, so that makes up for it, right? The Core Strength went ahead as scheduled.

Planned – 24 km  with a 6:50 Tempo in the middle

Actual : Bahaha…6:50 /k tempo on a windy day like this?  Ain’t happening. This was a really tough run and I didn’t even get in the groove until at least 10k.  I managed a few km’s with a 7:10-7:20 pace.  The hardest part about running solo is ignoring that voice in your head that keeps telling you to quit. There were good moments, there were bad moments  but I kept going.  Average pace 7:30.  Did I mention that it was extremely windy? It would have been so easy to quit but I didn’t.

Saturday – Planned 2.5k warm up/ 12 @single leg lunges with 10 lb weights / 20 @ bench dips / 15 @ snap ‘n taps / 12 @ walking lunges alternating legs/ 8 @one leg hand walk to tricep pushup / 18 @high knee explosion / 15m sideways walking with strength band/ 5 x 30 seconds running in place. / Repeat each step one time.  / Cool down 6km

Actual : The Flu bug hit me hard today.  I was feeling better this afternoon so tried to run 2.5k to warm up.  Fueled only by popsicles,  I aborted at 2k and spend the rest of the day napping. Tomorrow is a scheduled Rest Day… I’ll wait and see how I feel before committing to trying this workout.

Sunday – Rest Day

Actual : I rested.

Summary: This week started with fatigue and ended with fatigue, with a couple of brilliant days in the middle.  Cold temperatures and strong winds added an extra challenge to the Hills Repeats and the Long Run.  I didn’t reach the desired pace for either, but am happy with the effort.  As this week concludes, I am feeling a bit under the weather ( nausea, fatigue)  Hopefully it will sort itself out quickly.

Leave a Reply

