50,000 Push Ups

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a post about my Resolutions and Goals for 2017.   Since then I have added a couple of additional challenges/ goals.  A coworker challenged me to do 50,000 pushups in this calendar year.  This is the same coworker who challenged me to start Run Streaking 780 days ago and we all know how they went. (Only one of us is still running every day, and it ain’t him! )

At first it seemed mind boggling… 50, 000 pushups!  But then I started thinking about it and realized that it is very achievable, and the benefits are going to be huge. It is an average of 143 pushups every day, and they don’t have to be performed all at once. The first week was hard!  My fitness level at this point allows me to do 20 at a time. ( only a few months ago I struggled to do 5 ) After the fifth day I was sore all over.  Even my boobs hurt! By day 6 I could only do 10 at a time. On Day  7 I did Zero. I just couldn’t do it. The Rest Day did my body good and I returned on Day 8 and have been going strong since.  Right now I am doing reps of 20 several times a day and it feels good.

You probably noticed that I said a “couple” of challenges at the beginning of this post….

The second goal is to be able to do a 10-minute plank by the end of December.  Crazy, huh?  This was also the brainchild of that same coworker.  We take colleague wellness to new heights. Or maybe we are just competitive. .. ?  Currently I can plank for 2 minutes so I will need to work hard to achieve this goal. My longest plank ever was 4 minutes but that was several months ago.

There ya have it, folks. Two new challenges, both achievable but both will require hard work and dedication.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Cheers

3 thoughts on “50,000 Push Ups

Leave a Reply

