Ottawa Marathon Training / Week 15

You  might remember that I took a break from Training last week. This week I am back at it, focused and determined to be the best that I can be on Race Day. As always I am recording my daily progress here, to keep me accountable.

Monday : Planned Cross Training – 45 minutes. ( my choice of modes.)

Actual :  Okay, this is my first day back after taking one week off .  I admit my mindset is not where it needs to be.  It was easy to convince myself that yesterday’s 2 hour snowshoe trek was enough to count for two days.  Some days I am so weak.  I did run 5k though.

Tuesday : Planned Cardio : Stair Climber . Warm up 5 minutes easy. 4 x 3 minutes high intensity with 3 minute recovery. Cool down 8 minutes .  /   Planned : Core strength (CxWorx – 30 minutes)

Actual :  I’m back!  Focused and ready to kill this workout.  The Stair Climber presented a problem.  I am a member at Goodlife Fitness and there are 2 locations near me. Only one of them has a Stair Climber and it was not the one where I was meeting a friend for our usual Tuesday night CxWorx.   I considered postponing that specific workout but then decided to use the elliptical. It has an adjustable ramp and I think that it engages the same muscles as the stair climber. Whew!  What a workout!  Afterwards I did the CxWorx session.   I missed it last week because of the snowstorms.  Good workout. My abs are sore.

20170223_151236.jpgWednesday – Planned 10 easy running

Actual : It’s a beautiful day and I had a great running partner.  We giggled and laughed as we jumped over puddles and sloshed through slush.

Thursday – Planned Cross Training Cycling / 12 minute warm up easy cycling / One leg cycling, 4 @ 1 minute intense cycling with 1 minute recovery, each leg / 5 x 1 minute @ 90 RPM, 1 minute @ 100 RPM./ 5 x 1 minute easy, 1 minute high gear / 3 miles fast / 12 minutes cool down.                                                                                                                      

Actual: Until recently I haven’t had much experience with the stationary bike. Wow. this was intense.  It is the longest that I have ever stayed on a bike, for sure. I didn’t complete the 12 minute cool down, cut it short at 8 minutes.  My butt was killing me!

Friday – 12 km easy running / CxWorx core conditioning

Actual :  The CxWorx happened as planned but I spontaneously signed up for a 10k event for Saturday (Rest Day) so skipped the run. Well, actually I did 6k and that’s almost the same as skipping it, right?

Saturday – Rest

Actual: As mentioned above I signed up for  a 10k event.  It wasn’t a race, just a community fundraiser that was billed as a Walk but we were given permission to run the route.  My running partner is directionally challenged ( like me! ) and we took the wrong turn not once, not twice, but three times.  As we approached the finish line, our distance was 11.75 km so we did the logical thing and ran around the block again.  Longest 10k ever!

20170223_151409.jpgSunday – Strength Training

Actual :Didn’t happen.  Sundays seem to be a tough day for me as work and family commitments seem to get in the way. Maybe Sundays should be a day of Rest for me?   Not to worry, it will be easy to fit this workout in next week on one of my Easy Running Days.

Summary: My body appreciated the break last week. It took me a couple of days to get back in the game mentally but I feel good about this week.  Tired, but good.

 

Leave a Reply

