Shortbread Cookies, the recipe

20161219_130118The origin of this recipe is a bakery where I worked in the 1980’s.  As part of the employment agreement I had to sign a waiver that I would not share any of the recipes or use them for personal gain.  The bakery closed almost 30 years ago so I am probably safe from litigation.

20161218_081916This recipe has only 3 ingredients and it is super easy to make.  You just dump all the ingredients in a bowl and mix by hand. Literally, you mix by hand until it feels like playdough.

 

 

20161218_085532

Roll out, cut out shapes and bake at 350 degrees for 9-10 minutes.   Decorate or not, it’s up to you. If my memory is correct, at the bakery we piped a blob of icing in the center after cooling  and added a piece of cherry.

 

Here are the 3 ingredients

  • 1 lb unsalted butter ( I have used salted butter , it’s fine)
  • 1.5 cups icing sugar
  • 3 cups flour ( you might have to add more to roll it out)

I like sugar on my sugar so I make icing and decorate the cookies.  This is what I put in my icing.  Just mix it all up with electric mixer, add color as desired and put on top of cookies.  It is also delicious on cake.

  • 7 cups Icing Sugar
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 dash moonshine  vanilla ( If you don’t have moonshine vanilla than any pure  vanilla will do

20161219_135907

 

Editor’s note: You can make your own vanilla by putting vanilla beans in any alcohol and letting them infuse for several weeks.  Vodka is a good choice because it has a neutral flavor.  I use moonshine because it is plentiful and cheap.  You can consider this a bonus recipe, a recipe hidden within a recipe..

 

 

 

 

My biggest reason for posting this recipe is that I am tired of looking it up and writing it out to share with family / friends. Now I can just send them this link. You can expect to see more recipes here over the next little while.

Cheers!

20161213_160737

Leave a Reply

