Ottawa Marathon Training Week 12

20170201_130040Last week’s training plan derailed slightly but I was able to recover quickly and get right back at it.  This is the plan for week 12, with results and analysis.

Monday – Planned Cross Training 60 minutes

Actual : Nailed it! I had the opportunity to do Body Combat at Goodlife Fitness today, and I thought, why not?  It’s nice to switch things up and do different stuff.  This is a very intense workout that targets all the major muscle groups. And it was fun! It was only 50 minutes so I added 15 minutes of rowing afterwards.

Tuesday – Planned 5 km easy  / core strength

Actual: Nailed it! Tuesdays are Group run night.  Everyone was doing 6k or 7k so I opted to do 6k. #peerpressure #bonusmiles After the run I met a friend at the gym where we did our usual Cxworx session.

Wednesday – v02 Max 5 x 800

Actual : Missed it! I have a little niggle in my right ankle, nothing painful, just a little bit of discomfort.  I figured it would go away by the time I finished my 2k warmup, but it didn’t.  With a half marathon this weekend I don’t want to risk aggravating it so skipped the speedwork.  With only three days remaining until the HM, I choose not to reschedule this workout.

20170130_112445Thursday – Strength Session /core strength

Actual: Nailed it! This one is pretty easy. I have a standing date with a friend on Tuesdays and Thursdays for CxWorx at Goodlife Fitness.  Tonight I went early and did 15 minutes of biking to warm up, and them some upper body stuff before the session started.  Ankle still slightly sore, tried running to see how it felt.  1km warm up, 2km faster pace and then 1km cool down. Run felt good but ankle still not 100%.

Friday – Planned 60 minutes easy cross training

Actual : Failed it! Unless napping counts as cross training??  Planned to go to the gym in the evening, but fell asleep on the couch instead. Woke up at 8 pm, too late to go out, as I work at 5 am.  Apparently my body needs rest more than it needs cross training. This will not be rescheduled.

Saturday – Planned  Rest Day

Actual : Nailed it!

20170205_152802Sunday – Hypothermic Half Marathon.

Actual : Nailed it! (almost) My goal was to run the entire 21.1k at my planned marathon pace of 6:45 /km.  I felt strong the whole way and only stopped to walk at water stations. Pace was 6:54/km and I am okay with that.

Summary

It was a good week.  I missed a couple of workouts but I feel that it was the right thing to do and I don’t think that it will have an adverse effect on my progress. . It feels great to be #gettingbettereveryday .   .  My Half Marathon today was a race simulator and it went well but I can see the need to continue to work on speed and strength.  I am not quite where I want to be, but that is why we stop to evaluate the progress once in awhile, right?

How is your training going?  Do you sometimes skip workouts or do you always reschedule them?

Cheers, everyone!

 

+

Leave a Reply

