Ottawa Marathon Training / Week 23

This plan is developed by me, for me. The skeleton of this plan is Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 Marathon Plan with liberal input from Owen Anderson’s “The Science of Running” and Alan Culpepper’s “Running Like A Champion,” with solicited advice from a running friend.

marchallMonday : 5K Easy Running

Actual :  I shortened it to 3k because I was running with an inexperienced pup.  We walked afterwards in an effort to teach him more social skills.

Tuesday : Explosive Strength: 2.4k easy run/ intense run for 1 minute, minimum 180 strides / Skip 30 seconds/ 5 x 2 leg hurdle hop( 8 hurdles) / 2x 40 second one leg hop / Diagonal hop 45 seconds, rest 15 seconds, repeat/ 8 greyhound runs/ 2×12 one leg squat/ 15 high knee explosion, rest and repeat/ 4x 800 m vV02max/ cool down 3km

Actual :  Done almost as described, except that I biked for 6k for my warm up, exceeding 180 RPM. This is a tough workout and I struggle with it but am committed to continuing to do these exercises until Hard Becomes the New Easy,  even after the marathon is complete.

Wednesday : 60 minute cycling

Actual : 2 mile run for Run Streak Day # 879 and 30 minute cycling followed by 2 hour nap.  I am so tired. This is the third day this week that I have had a long nap, and it’s only Thursday. I might have to start scheduling naps into my training program?

Thursday : 24k Long Slow Run

Actual:  Fail ! This was mentally tough which meant that it was physically tough.  I threw in the towel at 20k but was still 3k from my house, so my total distance was 23k.

20170427_141029 (1)

Friday: Rest

Actual : Nailed it.  Ran 1.25 miles after work for Run Streak Day 881, then slept for 2 hours.  Another long nap… need to evaluate my sleep patterns.  Noticed a slight niggle in the right ankle, hopefully nothing serious.

Saturday: Cross Training

Actual :  Usually I have a specific plan for cross training but today’s plan was vague and I just wasn’t motivated to anything.  I spent a couple of hours enjoying some outdoor fun with the grandchildren and I went to bed feeling guilt-free after running, jumping, climbing, etc all afternoon.  Who said cross training wasn’t fun?

Sunday:  8k Easy Run

Actual:  Ankle is still slightly sore so I did this run very carefully. I stopped at 5k and then walked for another half hour. No pain while walking.

Summary:   The week started great and I had some quality workouts, until my mid-week Long Run. It was horrible .  I have been feeling some pain in my right ankle since my Long Run and will need to keep a cautious eye on it.  In hindsight it might be related to a pair of 1.5 inch heels that I had been wearing earlier in the week.  Those shoes have been tossed in the closet and will stay there until after the marathon.  Or it might have been caused by a trail run over  very uneven terrain. .. or it might have been the Long Run.  Fingers crossed that it will sort itself out within a day or two.

And did I mention that I am fatigued?  I resolve to go to bed earlier.

Four weeks until Race Day!

 

Leave a Reply

