Santa Sprint

This one was just for fun, and for a good cause.  The race kit included one bib and two safety pins.  ( yes, only two.  I think they were on a tight budget. ) There was no shirt, no bling and no free banana.  One hundred percent of all race entries went to charity. (We raised almost $1000 which was split between The  Food Bank and Santa Claus Parade Charity)

20161126_163835Here I am with a few people from my running group, the Riverview Running Idiots.

Main Street was closed for the Santa Claus parade and thousands of people lined up along the sidewalks in anticipation of the beginning of the parade.  Instead of marching bands and gaily decorated floats, they got…. us.. ! Imagine their surprise to see a bunch of runners dressed in holiday style sprinting down the street.  I expected to see at least one sign that said, ” Worst Parade Ever!” or “This Parade Sucks!”  But the response was amazing.  Children and adults high-fived us along the entire 2.6 km route.(It is hard to run while you are trying to high five children who are sitting on the curb. )

15156840_1294835267246507_6843783571783385261_oHere is another picture of us Running Idiots.

When I reached the Finish Line I found myself 2.6 km from my car so I walked back along the parade route, enjoying the brilliantly lit floats and the marching bands along the way. I haven’t attended a Santa Claus parade for years, not since my children were young, and I had forgotten how exciting it can be.

This is definitely a highlight of my Christmas season so far.  I can’t wait to do this one again.

20161126_173830.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Cheers!

 

One thought on “Santa Sprint

Leave a comment