Ottawa Marathon Training , Week 19

This is a journal of my marathon training. It is my second marathon and I am still trying to figure things out. My training plan is loosely  based on Owen Anderson’s “The Science of Running, ” with a lot of input from “Run Like A Champion” by Alan Culpepper.  It is a learning experience for me, and I am chronicling my efforts here to pinpoint what works and what doesn’t. This is how week 19 looks.

Monday – Planned Speed Intervals 9 x 400 meters, 20 minute warm up, 20 minute cool down

windActual : I have been doing most of my speedwork on the treadmill at the gym but decided that I preferred to run outdoors this evening. Gunningsville Bridge has  a nice flat, well-lit pedestrian walkway so I ran there to begin the workout.  The wind was unexpectedly fierce.  Well, maybe I should have expected it, but I didn’t.  Speed intervals with wind resistance is a challenge. I only did 5 repeats instead of the required 9.  I met a fellow runner and we naturally started running and talking together.  Besides, I was quite exhausted from fighting that wind.  The effort was great, and Garmin says I didn’t do too badly either.

Tuesday – CxWorx,  10k Easy running

Actual :  I decided to go early to the gym to do a little bit of cross training before CxWorx. I opted to do 30 minutes on the Elliptical, including several resistance / speed / ramp incline  intervals to compensate for  yesterday’s aborted Speedwork session.

C7eJlFbX0AAxs4KAfter  leaving the gym I attempted to do my 10k outdoors.  By “attempted” I mean that I fell arse over teakettle after tripping on this sidewalk, only 70 meters into my run. Falling hard on my left side, but pain jolted the entire right side of my body.  I walked for a few minutes and then gingerly did 5k. Hamstring,  glute and IT band, and everything in between, are all very tight but I think I gently stretched them during this easy run.

Wednesday – Planned 8k easy

Actual : Still sore after yesterday’s tumble. I attempted to run but my legs felt like they belonged to someone else. Knee felt a bit wonky at first but got better.  I decided to quit after 2k.  My body needs rest more than it needs miles.

Thursday – Planned 20k , Warm Up 3k, Tempo 14k @6:55 pace, Cool Down 3k

Actual : With trepidation, I dressed in layers and started out the door.  Temperatures plummeted last night and it was -28C (-18F) with the windchill when I started out.   A little Blizzard-That-Couldn’t left light snow on the ground. And I wasn’t sure how the body would feel after my tumble a few days ago.  Legs felt good, so I decided to give it my best shot.   I chose to forego the Tempo part of the run and just do what felt good.  It was too cold to bare my wrist to use my Garmin as a pace-keeper, and the underfoot conditions were not favorable.  I ended up doing intervals.. run faster where the ground was bare, slow down on snow. At 16k my right side… lower back, hip, glute, hamstring and knee said.. ” That’ll do. ”   I calculated that I was appox. 2k m from my house, so I stopped running and walked home. Total distance 18.5km.

20170323_095828.jpg

Friday – Cardio / Strength Training.

Actual : When I review my previous weeks I  realize that Strength is my weakness.  Strength workouts are the ones that I do not give 100% effort. Today was no exception.  30 minutes of biking and 15 minutes of rowing took care of my cardio and I did Cxworx core strength fitness class.  Thank goodness that I have a buddy who goes to CxWorx with me twice a week. We keep each other accountable.

Saturday : Hills 7 x 400 meters.

My Run Club is doing hills tomorrow and I have decided to join them.  Today  is a beautiful spring day so I went out for an enjoyable 6k.

Sunday : Planned Rest Day

Actual : Yesterday’s hills were tackled first thing this morning with my Run Group.  Total distance 9.6km with 7 lovely hill climbs.

Summary:  Total mileage 42 kilometers… 11 kilometers less than planned.  A slight tumble threatened to put me on the injury bench but fortunately I recovered within a couple of days.   Hills were postponed one day, without impacting the training cycle significantly. Long Run was cut short by 2km because some body parts were beginning to get angry. ( only 2 days after my Great Fall)

One thing that I am learning is that by changing one workout, it often impacts other workouts.. much like a dominos effect. As I sit down every Sunday to tweak the upcoming week’s schedule, I am mindful of family and work commitments as well as Group Runs.  By  working my training plan into my life schedule, there is less chance that I will have to postpone or skip a workout.

 

Leave a Reply

