Word of the Day / Ebullient

Ebullient : Overflowing with fervor, excitement, or enthusiasm

There is a brand new Goodlife Fitness Center in my city and I was excited to check it out.  Upon entering I was warmly greeted by an ebullient  young attendant who gave me a quick tour of the facilities. As we chatted he advised me that they offer a free one hour session with a personal trainer who will outline which training options are available to me.  When he asked what my workout goals were I replied that I was interested in cross training that would complement my running goals, and  that I would especially be interested in meeting with a trainer who was familiar with Running.  He immediately made an appointment for me with Kristen ( not her real name) who happens to be a runner.

Kristen was nearby so she was called over to meet me.   She too radiated ebullience.  When she learned that I was a runner, she said, ” Cool, so you run, like, marathons and stuff? ” I assured here that I did indeed run, like,  marathons and stuff.  She told me that she had just run a local marathon.  When I asked her how it went, she told me that it was great and she finished in 28 minutes.  It was then that I realized that she had done the 5k version of the marathon.  *face palm*

My  training session is scheduled for next week and I am looking forward to spending an hour with Kristen. She is a very enthusiastic individual who obviously loves her job so it should be a pleasant experience.  I am confident that she will be able to teach this old dog some new tricks. And maybe I can convince her to train for the 42.2km version of a marathon.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment