Ottawa Marathon Training / Week 21

This is my accountability blog, designed to keep me focused.   This plan was designed by me and is based on Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 Marathon training plan,with insight from  Owen Henderson’s “Science of Running” and Alan Culpepper’s “Run Like A Champion.”  with a heaping helping of solicited advice from a running friend. Marathon Training is a learning experience for me and I am tracking my progress for future reference.

17796038_789916654516975_4266533473948231212_n

Monday – Planned 5k Easy Running / Cycling 12 minutes WU / 4 x 5 minutes intense with 3 minute recovery

Actual : 5k was an easy run with a buddy.   Cycling was done at the gym, followed by CxWorx with another buddy. We usually go on Tuesdays but she is not available then so we switched days.

Tuesday – 5k Easy / Core Strength

Actual : I did the core strength yesterday due to the unavailability of my workout partner.  Tonight I joined my run group for a social run.  I ran with a couple of people who have not been running much.  It was a nice enjoyable slow pace, but they coerced me into running 6.5km.  I am so easily persuaded.

C8qYGn1XYAAP6nQ.jpgWednesday – Planned 29km

Boom! Done! With a HM PB to boot! It was only by 5 seconds but I’m taking it.

Thursday – Planned 5k Active Recovery / Core Strength

Actual: Before I even laced up my shoes I decided to shorten this distance to 3km. I finished with 2.65km.  I was not mentally prepared and my body decided that it wouldn’t cooperate either.  It was a horrible run and I hated every step.

Core strength :  I attended CxWorx class with a buddy. It was interesting to note how sore my core was after yesterday’s run.   I guess the lesson that I learned is that my core muscles work hard during a long run ( and that’s good, right?) and require time to recover.  It was  tough workout and I decreased the level of intensity. It felt good to be done.

Friday – Planned  Warm Up 2k / Strength Training / 2k Tempo / 2k Cool Down

Actual : I am feeling fatigued.  With a road race on Sunday, I opted to do some light strength training, with a 3k warm up.

Saturday – Rest

Actual : I ran a windy 2km for Run Streak Day #861.

17800244_10154420441541024_8941869714555508828_n

 

 

Sunday – Lorneville Loop 13k Road Race

Actual : Nailed it!  I wasn’t sure how this would go, a hilly road race only 4 days after a Long Run. I planned to use this as a Tempo Training  Run with no thought of trying for a PB.  The first few kilometers were uphill and I struggled with my breathing. A downhill stretch at 5 -6k was a welcome relief and allowed my legs to wind up and then just keep going.  My pace was faster than I planned but it felt good so I decided to just go for it.  I finished 22 seconds faster than my previous best time, and it was also my best 10k effort by 30 seconds.

 

 

Summary: In hindsight I could have planned this week better.  The 29k long run followed by a 13k road race four days later wasn’t my best idea.  Core strength workout the day after a long run was a horrible idea.  But hey, this is a learning experience and I maybe I will be smarter next time.   Thank goodness my body is smart enough to tell me when I am being a dumbass.  And thank goodness I am still smart enough to listen to my body.

Total distance this week 62. 3 km.  If you are keeping score you will realize that I earned 3 PB’s this week, including Wednesdays 21.1k.  I’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

