Ottawa Marathon Training Plan / Week 26

This plan is developed by me, for me. The backbone of this plan is Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 Marathon Plan with liberal input from Owen Anderson’s “The Science of Running” and Alan Culpepper’s “Running Like A Champion,” with solicited advice from a running friend. It is a learning experience for me and I am blogging to keep myself accountable and to keep a record of training for future review.

20170514_134211April Showers bring May Flowers.  I’m not sure what to expect from all these May Showers.  So many of my runs were done in rain this week.  I am becoming adept at jumping over worms.

Monday : Planned 3k Recovery Run / 60 minutes cycling

Actual :  I ran immediately after work with a colleague, then did 45 minutes on the stationary bike later in the evening.

Tuesday : 35 km Long Slow Run

Actual : T”was  ugly but ’tis done.   I experimented with Honey Stingers with good results but poor fueling and hydration before the run took it’s toll.

Wednesday : Rest Day

Actual :  1.25 mile Recovery run on the treadmill followed by sauna and cold shower.  #restdaydoneright

Thursday : Core Strength / 5k Easy

Actual:  My gym buddy couldn’t make it for our CxWorx class so we postponed it until tomorrow.  The 5k didn’t happen.  I am suffering from DOMS and it didn’t get any better after 2k so I walked home.  Foam roll, foam roll, foam roll.

Friday : Warm Up / 3k Marathon Pace / 2km Cool Down

Actual: Tightness in my right glute and left thigh prevented me from running at the desired pace.  I opted for a lovely 7k run with a few gals instead.  Bonus:  Social runs are often a great source of shared information and I got the name of  a local massage therapist whom I plan to phone on Monday.   Oh.. and earlier today I did yesterday’s CxWorx with my buddy.  It felt great.

Saturday : Cross Training

Actual :   Easy cycling.

Sunday : 10k Easy

Actual : Nope.  The tightness is gone from my left thigh but the right glute continues to be a pain in the butt.  It is worse today and seems to be in my hip flexor / lower back though hard to pinpoint exactly where.  I ran 2k and  felt like I was dragging my leg behind me so decided to end the run prematurely.  A family hike over rough terrain in the afternoon may have aggravated the injury.

Summary:   After months of running injury free I have a nagging soreness that just isn’t getting any better.  Doctor Google has narrowed it down to 5 or 6 things but I want a more accurate diagnosis so have booked an appointment with a PT on Tuesday.  Depending on her verdict, I may schedule a massage afterwards. With less than 2 weeks until the marathon I need to find relief fast.

Total distance this week 60km.  Let the Tapering commence.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ottawa Marathon Training Plan / Week 26

  1. Yes! Tapering is one of my favorite parts of training. Haha Although, sometimes I get too antsy and then I get cranky because I can’t run. Hopefully your body heals before your race. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

