Marathon Training, A Reflection

This is my second marathon and I am learning that Marathon Training is about so much more than running. When I was training for my first marathon I had to face the unexpected death of my brother and then my mother’s brief but terminal illness.   The training became a coping mechanism for me as I dealt with the grief of losing both of them within a few months.  My runs were an outlet for my emotions, but truth be told,  I skipped / modified a lot of workouts, especially in the final weeks of providing palliative care for my mother.

The training for this marathon is different.  I still carry Mom and Roger in my heart, especially on the Long Runs, but I am able to focus on working hard to increase my endurance. It really is about so much more than running. It is about becoming stronger physically, mentally and emotionally. It is about unfalteringly  putting one foot in front of the other, even when you feel that you just can’t take another step. It is about pushing yourself beyond your comfort zone. It is about getting better every day.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Marathon Training, A Reflection

Leave a Reply

