I <3 My Dad

After 60 years of marriage my father is adjusting to the life of a single guy fairly well.  When my mother learned of her terminal illness a few months ago she made it her mission to give him a crash course in domestic responsibilities.  As her illness progressed she could no longer do many of her regular daily tasks so she gave him verbal instruction and he was a quick learner.

There is only so much that you can teach someone in  a couple of months.  By the time my mother passed last month, Dad had become quite adept at household chores and meal preparation… but there are so many little things that he doesn’t know.  Like, how to raise and lower venetian blinds. He doesn’t know how to make a long distance phone call, or.. how to write a cheque,  iron a shirt, or set an alarm clock. He used an extension cord for the vacuum cleaner because he didn’t know that it had a retractable cord.  He thought that it just had a really short cord.  A couple of days ago he asked me how often he should buy groceries. When folding laundry he doesn’t know the difference between a face cloth and a dish cloth.

This list could go on and on. He is getting by one day at a time with a little bit of help from his family.  He is not afraid to admit that he doesn’t know how to do some things and I am honored to help him as he starts this  new chapter in his life.  I have always had a close relationship with my mother and now it appears that I have the opportunity to build a similar relationship with my father.

I am looking forward to getting to know him better.

dad

Here is my Dad watching us “kids” scamper over the seaweed and mud a few weeks ago.

CroZ5h9XgAAR395.jpg

Cheers, y’all !

 

 

Leave a Reply

