31k and I feel good.

If you are a regular reader of the drivel that is written within this blog then you remember that my last Long Run was horrible. Somehow I finished but it wasn’t pretty and I questioned whether I would be ready for a Marathon in mid-October.

Today was Long Run day again.  Normally my Long Runs are 6 or 7 days apart but because of my work schedule I did a 31k run today, only 4 days after my ghastly 30k run.  That run wasn’t a total fail as I learned a few things from it.  Specifically I learned that hydration, fuel and rest are crucial to successfully running long distances.  Also I learned that I am mentally tougher than I thought I was ( okay, I’m stubborn… but that should serve me well as I continue my Marathon Training. )

The biggest difference in today’s run is that I tried something new. .. Vega Pre-Workout Energizer.  I have been using Vega products for a few weeks but this is the first time that I have tried the Pre Workout stuff.  Wow!  This stuff is magic!  I felt great! I even started singing out loud at the 24 km mark because I just felt so gosh darned happy.  That was really weird because I wasn’t carrying music with me.

Then a few minutes later I was crying, big heaving sobs so I had to stop and sit on a rock to compose myself.  It is not unusual for me to cry during a run, but I have never cried uncontrollably before.   I was just thinking about my brother who died in an accident a few months ago, and my mother who is nearing the end of her life here on earth.  Running has been therapeutic for me and I often find comfort on the trail surrounded by the tranquility of nature. As I was sitting on the rock with healing tears running down my face, my phone pinged.  It was a message from a friend, a confidante who allows me to pour my heart out frequently.  I phoned him and he kept me company via Long Distance for the next 6k’s. That is what friends are for, right?

All in all it was a great run and I have renewed confidence in my marathon training.  I just might be able to do this after all.  Hydration, fuel and recovery are all sorted out.  Cheers, everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

