Hiit and Run

High Intensity Interval Training – Quite simply it is any workout that alternates between intense bursts of energy and periods of less intense activity.  As a runner I am familiar with the concept, incorporating sprints and strides in my running schedule regularly.

A couple of months ago I learned of a Hiit it at the Park program offered locally twice a week.  Unfortunately it didn’t fit into my schedule but I filed the information away.  This week my Life Schedule changed and I was delighted to learn that I can now attend the Wednesday evening HIIT sessions.

Cost is $2.00 per session and attendance is on a drop in basis.  Locations vary around the city.  Last night’s session was at Prince Edward Park in the west end of Moncton which is a short drive from my house.  The weather was hot….. 29C and humid…. but we did our workout in the shade of the mature trees.

It was a great workout.  The session was based on the Tabata program but the workout varies weekly.  I was expecting it to be hard… and it was…. but I was pleased to be able to finish each Tabata without stopping.   At the end of the workout we all high fived each other and the  instructor commented to me that I was in good shape.  Those few encouraging words put me over the moon with happiness. I know that I have worked hard to get to this fitness level and it was nice to have a stranger acknowledge that my efforts have had visible results.   I am not where I want to be yet, but I am not where I used to be.

The park is located in an area of the city that I don’t frequent often.  I drive through regularly but never have a reason to stop.  After the workout I decided to go for my run for Run Streak Day 635.  It is an older part of town with beautiful well maintained older homes and I enjoyed the change of scenery.

Can’t wait to do this again.  The Hiit AND the Run. 20160824_201349

Leave a Reply

