#bragtime

Warning : this post contains Self congratulations  combined with a little bit of boasting.  If you can not be sincerely happy for my accomplishments. STOP READING RIGHT NOW.

I might have to start wearing Protective Running Gear so I don’t get hurt by all the PB’s that are shattering around me this week.  First my Lorneville Loop 13k PR didn’t stand a chance as I handily beat last year’s time by a whopping six minutes.  During the same run I also beat my best 10k effort by over 4 minutes.  Wow!  It was a great run. And I didn’t feel like I was going to die afterwards.

Then a mere 4 days later my 5k PB was smashed to smithereens.  I have been trying for months to get my time below 30 minutes.   My best effort to date was 30:16 at Legs for Literacy in October when I ran my heart out.  During yesterday’s run I wasn’t even focused on Speed, but concentrating on Form.   At the 2.5k mark I realized that I was on target to record a sub-30… if I could maintain the same pace. And I did.!   Final time : 29:36.  Boom! Again.. I still had some gas in the tank at the end of my run and didn’t feel like I was going to die.

Analysis:  Running fast might not be about Running Fast.   Maybe it is about cross training and building muscle strength that will enhance performance.  Maybe it is about specific exercises that will contribute to more efficient muscles movement.  Maybe, just maybe, I am getting better every day.

Leave a Reply

