Run Streak Day 500

Q. How do  you run for 500 consecutive days?

A. One day at a Time

It is hard to believe that I have ran for at least one mile every day for the last 500 days  It is like celebrating a 30th Wedding Anniversary. ( yep, I have done that too. ) You just wake up one day and realize that you have accomplished something amazing, something that has been achieved by only a small percentage of the population. Yay, me!

The run streak started as a Dare, and it continued because I am too stubborn to quit. (kind of like my marriage..! )  Then it became a habit. ( omg.. I am seeing a pattern..  marriage has become a habit too! ) I could write several pages analyzing the streak ( and my marriage) but that will be a blog for another day.  Today I am content to know that today is Day 500. ( or Day 11,077 of my Marriage)

I keep my Run Streak  private because a lot of people just don’t “get” it. My non-running friends’ eyes glaze over when I start talking about any of my running adventures.  And my non-streaking running friends are not receptive when I confide that  I don’t abide by the sacred Rest Days.  So I streak alone.  Well.. not exactly alone.. I am a member of a private Facebook Streaking Group and I find acceptance and accountability there.

20160412_174719

 

Tonight was Run club night, and to my delight my coach made cookies to celebrate Day 500.  Well…. she put icing and almonds on store bought cookies but it was a  lovely thing to do.  Many of the other runners offered me sincere congratulations, even though they do not endorse run streaks.

 

20160412_183558It was great to share this milestone with the Group but it was even better to celebrate the Day by running with my daughter.  Today is week 2 of my running group’s current C25K clinic and my daughter joined us.  She has been running at the gym but is committed to doing her first 5k in a few weeks so she needs to get some outdoor time. She did great, and she proudly informed me that she is currently on Day 2 of her Running Streak.  I hope she is kidding. …

Who knows when this Steak will end?  For now I am committed to continuing for better or worse, in sickness and in health……. until Injury do us part.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

