Lorneville Loop 13k 2016

I am pumped!  I smashed my 13k PB by over 6 minutes!  And Garmin tells me that I beat my best 10k effort by 3 minutes.  The race results indicate that I finished 7th in my Age Group. I am not a competitive runner so it is always a Bonus to finish in the Top Ten. And all this was accomplished on a hilly route in incredibly windy conditions. And it felt good.

12932929_10153342884540938_140146429909128607_n

This is the second time that I have participated in this event and I think it will become an annual event for me. Five other people in my running group also took part in this race.  It is great to be a part of such a supportive and encouraging group. (that’s me, in the green jacket, wearing glasses. )

Things I did right –

  • Pre-race fuel. Healthy Carbs in the days leading up to the event
  • Sleep , I was rested and ready
  • Tapering.  Easy short runs this week ( if you don’t count the Hills Reps on Wednesday)
  • Warm Up ( brisk walk) prior to race
  • Recovery Walk immediately the race
  • Stretches immediately after the race
  • Layering, damn near froze to death before race, but perfect for running

Things I did wrong-

  • Hydration- in the days prior to the event
  • Hydration – during the race
  • Hydration – after the event
  • Epsom Salt Bath – no time for this when I got home as I had a social engagement . The social engagement included lots of food, so that was a good compromise. And then I was too tired.

I wasn’t sure how I was going to play this one… my running group does 10:1’s and I adhere to that schedule when I am with them. When I run solo I run continuous, stopping only when my body says Stop. This is a hilly route and I expected my body to say ” stop” a few times.  The wind was strong ( and cold) and I didn’t know how that would impact the run. I decided to just see how I felt when I got out there.  I had no expectations, though I was hoping to finish faster than last year.

The first 4 or 5 km is mostly uphill and I made it to the top without stopping.  When we got to the King William Highway I felt like I could continue this pace forever. even with that strong headwind… so I kept going.  Strava tells me that this is mostly flat or downhill but my legs insisted that it is a long gradual incline. And there was someone on my heels the whole way. She was so close that I couldn’t see her when I turned my head but her shadow was running right beside me, and I could hear her breathe.  I slowed so she would pass, and she slowed too.  I sped up to get ahead but she sped up too. Then I forgot about her and just ran my race.  I was pleased to see how effortlessly I was maintaining this pace and decided to just keep going.  At the 10k mark I realized that I had beaten my previous 10k effort by at least 3 minutes. Go, me!

At the 12k mark there is an Uphill stretch where I decided to take my first Walk Break. I tried to run, but felt like puking halfway up. So I walked. And the lady who was drafting me passed me like I was standing still. And why not?  She had conserved her energy by running in my wind shadow for most of the race.  After a couple of minutes of walking I picked up my running pace and managed to run that last stretch.  There is a huge Downhill stretch followed by one final Uphill just before the Finish Line.  This time I was ready for the hill and killed it, finishing the course 6 minutes faster than my previous PB. Sweet!

12994525_10153342884685938_5567692646985057817_n

It was even sweeter to see one of my running buddies complete her longest Race ever! She is training for her first HM in a few weeks and this hilly route was part of her training plan. Another lady in our group also PB’d on this course by a couple of minutes.   When the results came in, we realized that I was 7th in my Age Group.  And we also had a Birthday Girl with us so we  certainly had lots to applaud. To that end we enjoyed a celebratory dinner at JJ’s Diner in Sussex.

Sometimes the best part of running is sharing the good times with friends. I can’t wait to do this one again.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Lorneville Loop 13k 2016

Leave a Reply

