It’s just a Hill.. get over it.

Tonight’s theme was Hills.  Several people from my running club were meeting for the sole purpose of running up and down Gunningsville Boulevard. It doesn’t make sense to run up a hill and then turn around and run down the hill. Nor does it make sense to do that 4 or 5 times.  But I am a sucker for peer pressure so I met at the designated place at the designated time.

When I glanced at my wrist to see what time it was I was horrified to see that there was no Garmin there!  I forgot my Garmin on Hills night!  What to do…?  I didn’t have many options.  I could have drove the 3k to my house to get it, but I decided to just run without it. And it wasn’t so bad.

After a  nice 10-15 minute warmup we tackled the hill.  I almost died!  I actually stopped and walked halfway up.  Then I kicked my own ass and ran the rest of the way to the top.  Going down was easy, and I was able to do the next 3 Reps without pausing.

I have no idea what my pace was, or my elevation and to my surprise it really doesn’t matter. It was a nice treat to not glance at my wrist every 2-3 minutes and just run by feel.  I do track my monthly distance so I created a manual workout in Garmin Connect and Strava. Based on everyone else’s data, my distance tonight was somewhere around 6.5k. That’s good enough for me.

 

Leave a Reply

