11/11 on 11/11

Remembrance Day is a day to pause and remember.  My days are typically busy and I rarely think about how fortunate I am that I live in a country where I can go to work and earn an income to support myself.  When I go to the grocery store I don’t think about the people who live in countries where food is a luxury. Nor do I think twice about lacing up my running shoes and running outdoors..whenever I want.  I am guilty of taking these freedoms for granted.  Today I ran 11.11 kms in honor of the 11th day of the 11th month, silently thinking of the men and women who have fought for the freedom that I take for granted.  And the men and women who serve this country today so that we will not lose this freedom.

The park was filled with people walking dogs, parents with children, laughing teenagers, and seniors enjoying a lovely day in  nice park in a free county.

Lest we forget.

Leave a Reply

