How can something so simple be so hard?

I recently returned from a very humbling National Lawn Bowling event.  I don’t even know what happened… I just could not do It.  The pace of the  green was faster than any that I have ever bowled on and I loved it.. and I hated it.  I loved the beautiful swoop as my bowl arced so outrageously wide, but I hated that I could not control the weight of the bowl as it left my hand.  It was a struggle and I was embarrassed to bowl like a novice.  As I stood on the mat my mind was scrambling furiously trying to remember how to gently release a bowl. It was awful. It was horrible. It was excruciatingly painful.  And I can’t wait to do it again.

Leave a Reply

